How to pay Due Tax

How to pay Due Tax

The last date for e-filing income tax returns notified by the income tax department is 31st July for individuals.

upload form-16

Step-by-step procedure to pay tax online


To pay taxes online, login to  > Services > e-payment

Pay Taxes Online or click here on the tab "e-pay taxes" provided on the said website.


Select the relevant challan i.e. ITNS 280, ITNS 281, ITNS 282, ITNS 283 or Form 26 QB as applicable.


Enter PAN / TAN (as applicable) and other challan details like accounting head under which payment is made, address of the tax payer and the bank through which payment is to be made etc.


On submission of data entered, a confirmation screen will be displayed. If PAN / TAN is valid as per the ITD PAN / TAN master, then the full name of the taxpayer as per the master will be displayed on the confirmation screen.


On confirmation of the data so entered, the taxpayer will be directed to the net-banking site of the bank.


The taxpayer has to login to the net-banking site with the user id / password provided by the bank for net-banking purpose and enter payment details at the bank site.


On successful payment a challan counterfoil will be displayed containing CIN, payment details and bank name through which e-payment has been made. This counterfoil is proof of payment being made.


Allahabad Bank

Canara Bank

IDBI Bank Limited

State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur

State Bank of Travancore

Andhra Bank

Central Bank of India

Indian Bank

State Bank of Hyderabad

Syndicate Bank

Axis Bank

Corporation Bank

Indian Overseas Bank

State Bank of India


Bank of Baroda

Dena bank

Jammu and Kashmir Bank

State Bank of Indore

Union Bank of India

Bank of India


Oriental Bank of Commerce

State Bank of Mysore

United Bank of India

Bank of Maharashtra


Punjab National Bank

State Bank of Patiala

Vijaya Bank